The Libyan Capital:

Please click here to view a map of Tripoli.
Tripoli is an ancient city. It was one of the main four phoenician cities in North Africa. The other three are Karthag, Sabrata and Liptes. In 24 BC it was invaded by the Garamants who came from the South of Libya. At the begining of the third century it got the name "Tripolitanos" which means the three cities, i.e. Sabrata, Ouia and Liptes.
The arabic name of Tripoltanos is Tarablus or Atrablis or Tarabols and it got that name after the Arabs conquer it 22 Hijri (621 AC). Some historians gave Tripoli the name "The White City" because its buildings were painted white. In July 1535 it was invaded by the Spanyards.
In August 1551 the Turks defeated the Spanyards and started the Ottoman rule of the region.The turks named Tripoli "Tarablus al Gharb" or "Tripoli-West" since they already had another Tripoli in Lebanon.
In 1911 the Italians invaded Libya and started their era in which Libya lost more than half its population dut to resistance, hunger and concentration camps. During World War II the Allied forces bombed Tripoli in: December 29, 1940
March 10, 1941, March 11, March 16, March 17, March 24, March 25, March 28 and March 29, 1941 and May 4, 1941.
After Libya's independance in December 24, 1951 Tripoli started a new era. Tripoli is a very beautiful city and it got another name "Arous Albahr Almotawasit" or "The Jewel of the Mediterranean".
View pictures from our lovely city:
Tripoli 1
Tripoli 2
Tripoli 3
Tripoli 4
Tripoli 5
Tripoli 6
Tripoli 7
Tripoli 8
Tripoli 9
Tripoli 10
Tripoli 11
Tripoli 12
To send me your comments, please click here
Back to: Libya: Our Home